A New Venture

Nov 23, 2019
Hello All,
I have been doing armature photography for many years and recently ventured into astrophotography, which I'm finding to be a completely different type of photography. I'm using a Canon 70D and a Canon 6D Mark ii modified for astrophography . Both are great cameras, but offer different challenges.

With all that being said I am looking for anyone that has any advice on this new adventure. Any and all information that you care to share would be greatly appreciated.

Thank all,
Gerry D.

Nov 18, 2019
what kind of astrophotography are you doing? shots of the milky way or are you getting more serious and doing deep space photography?
i've done mw photography and moon shots, though i mostly fumble through it.
the moon will wash out your sky. so shoot when it's not full or not above the horizon.

this is from the 2015 lunar eclipse. i shot all of these as separate frames with the moon in the center of the frame for shaprness. i exposed for the moon, which in terms of exposure was pretty close to shooting in daylight. as the eclipse got closer and closer to climax the light dropped considerably. several frames from specific time intervals were stacked and positioned in the image below.

my first mw shot. there's a rule to get sharp stars in your mw shots. take 500 and divide by the focal length. your shutter speed can't be any slower than that number in seconds. so 500/18=27.7 sec. i shot at 20 seconds so i should have stationary stars. this was shot in a single frame. tripod and cable release were used.
18mm on aps-c camera
20s, f/2.8, iso 3200.

and this one was a similar setup. except i took 2 shots, one for the foreground and one for the stars. the foreground was a much longer exposure, maybe 150sec or so. i forget.

Nov 23, 2019