News Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark III review

May 12, 2020
I'm a pretty dedicated m43 photographer having used (predominantly) the Olympus system since about 2012. I ran an E-M1ii from 2016 and recently picked up the E-M1iii. In other words, I'm somewhat of an Olympus fan and have a lot of experience of the m43 format and Olympus cameras, including the E-M1ii and the E-M1iii. So, I feel qualified to comment on your article, and I must say that I disagree with a number of points:

1) "As you'd expect, the Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark III confidently outperforms the Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II". How? In my view, there's very little difference in the handling or performance between them and there is zero difference in the IQ. Sure, there are couple of new features likes HHHR & Live ND; and the AF has been tweaked - but fundamentally it's a VERY similar camera to the Mark II.

2) "Everything here feels superior [to the E-M1 II], from the faster and more robust autofocus to a significant improvement in ISO performance". Totally disagree! There is ZERO improvement in ISO performance. The AF is much the same in terms of its speed and robustness, aside from Face/Eye AF which is a big step up (but probably still lagging best-in-class eye AF and still not capable of detecting animal eyes). Then there are some more flexible ways to setup the AF zone, which are nice to have, but it's pretty much the same engine underneath.